Share This!


A comprehensive resource on state-level renewable electricity standard policy

Map showing states with RES

States with Renewable Electricity Standards

A renewable electricity standard is a market-based mechanism that requires electric utilities to gradually increase the amount of renewable energy resources—such as wind, solar, bioenergy, and geothermal—in their electricity supplies. Twenty-eight states, plus Washington DC, have adopted renewable electricity standards. In addition, four states have a voluntary renewable energy goal, with no specific enforcement mechanisms, and one state has both a standard and a voluntary goal.

Download the detailed state summaries:

AZ | CA | CO | CT | DE | DC | HI | IA
IL | MA | MD | ME | MI | MN | MO
MT | NC | NH | NJ | NM | NV | NY |
OH | OR | PA | RI | TX | WA | WI

Powered by Convio
nonprofit software