Share This!
Text SizeAAA Share Email


May 24, 2012 

UCS Gives Thumbs Up to Macfarlane as New NRC Chair

Statement by Lisbeth Gronlund, Union of Concerned Scientists

WASHINGTON (May 24, 2012) – This afternoon the White House nominated Allison Macfarlane, a nuclear waste expert, to replace Gregory Jaczko as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Below is a statement by Lisbeth Gronlund, co-director of the Global Security Program at the Union of Concerned Scientists.

“The Union of Concerned Scientists applauds President Obama’s decision to nominate Allison Macfarlane as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Professor Macfarlane is a scientist with a long history of working on complex technical public policy issues. She was receptive to public feedback during her tenure on the Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future, and understands the importance of openness to the commission’s effectiveness. We expect her to be a strong advocate for practical steps to enhance nuclear power safety and security.”


The Union of Concerned Scientists puts rigorous, independent science to work to solve our planet's most pressing problems. Joining with citizens across the country, we combine technical analysis and effective advocacy to create innovative, practical solutions for a healthy, safe, and sustainable future.

Powered by Convio
nonprofit software