Science, Democracy and Community Decisions on Fracking: Working Groups

Working Group 1: Probing the State of the Science on Unconventional Oil and Gas

Kevin Hurst (CHAIR) Former Assistant Director, Energy R&D, Office of Science and Technology Policy, The White House
Peter Frumhoff (FACILITATOR) Director for Science and Policy, Union of Concerned Scientists
Paul Stern Senior Scholar, Board on Environmental Change and Society, National Research Council
Jane Long Visiting Researcher, University of California, Berkeley; Senior Advisor, Environmental Defense Fund; Associate Director at Large, Energy and Environment Directorate, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Susan Christopherson Professor, Department of City and Regional Planning, Cornell University
Lisa McKenzie Research Associate, Department of Environmental and Behavioral Health, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado
Seth B. Shonkoff Executive Director, Physicians, Scientists and Engineers for Healthy Energy
Timothy Kelsey Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics, Sociology, and Education, Penn State; Co-Director, Center for Economic and Community Development, Penn State
Peter Gleick President and Co-founder, Pacific Institute
Monika Freyman Manager, Water Program, Ceres
Robert Kleinberg Technical Lead, Unconventional Resources, Schlumberger-Doll Research
Mark Philbrick AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow, Office of the Under Secretary, Department of Energy
Briana Mordick Staff Scientist, Natural Resources Defense Council
Amy Myers Jaffe Executive Director of Energy and Sustainability, Graduate School of Management, Institute of Transportation Studies, University of California, Davis
Trevor M. Penning Professor, Department of Pharmacology, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine; Director, Center of Excellence in Environmental Toxicology, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Adam R. Brandt Assistant Professor, Department of Energy Resources Engineering, Stanford University
Stephen Osborn Assistant Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Catherine Gautier-Downes Professor, Department of Geography, University of California, Santa Barbara
Ted Parson Dan and Rae Emmett Professor of Environmental Law and Faculty co-director, Emmett Center on Climate Change and the Environment, University of California, Los Angeles
Chris Weber Researcher, IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute
Aubrey Miller Senior Medical Advisor, CAPT US Public Health Service, Office of the Director, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health
Daniel Tormey Senior Principal, Vice President/Technical Director - Environment and Natural Resources Liability Management, Cardno ENTRIX
James McCarthy Union of Concerned Scientists Board Chair

Working Group 2: Understanding the Regulatory Landscape

Kate Konschnik (CHAIR) Policy Director, Environmental Law Program, Harvard Law School  
Michelle Robinson (CO-FACILITATOR) Director, Clean Vehicles Program, Union of Concerned Scientists  
Megan Herzog (CO-FACILITATOR) Emmett/Frankel Fellow in Environmental Law & Policy  
Nathan Richardson Resident Scholar, Resources For the Future
Kristin Carden Associate Attorney, Northern Rockies Office, Earthjustice
Shannon Ferrell Assistant Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics, Oklahoma State University
Sean Hecht Executive Director, Environmental Law Center, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Law
Jonathan Zasloff Professor, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Law
Lewis Branscomb Professor Emeritus,  Kennedy School of Government,  Harvard University; Distinguished Research Fellow, Institute for Global Conflict and Cooperation, University of California
Bill Allayaud California Director of Government Affairs, Environmental Working Group
Sara Rollet Gosman Lecturer, Environmental Law and Policy Program, University of Michigan Law School
Mark Boling President of V+ Development Solutions, General Counsel, and Secretary of the Board of Directors, Southwestern Energy
John H. Quigley Independent Consultant; former Secretary of Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
Steve Bennett Supervisor, Ventura County
Beverlee E. Silva Partner, Alston & Bird LLP
K. Eric Adair Partner, Hinson Gravelle & Adair LLP
Jamie Hoyte Assistant to the President of Harvard University; Lecturer on Environmental Science and Public Policy;Of Counsel, A.D.S. Ventures
Mary L. Lyndon Professor, St. John's University School of Law
Mark Brownstein Associate Vice President and Chief Counsel, Climate and Energy Program, Environmental Defense Fund
Damon Nagami Senior attorney at NRDC with expertise in natural resources at state and local levels
Angela Johnson Meszaros General counsel, Physicians for Social Responsibility
James Bradbury Senior Associate, Climate and Energy Program, World Resources Institute
Kurt Gottfried Co-Founder and Member of Board of Directors, Union of Concerned Scientists; Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics, Cornell University
David G. Taylor Director–Gas Storage Operations, Southern California Gas Company
Adrienne Alvord California and Western States Director, Union of Concerned Scientists
Jason Marshall Chief Deputy Director, California Department of Conservation

Working Group 3: Access to Information and Citizen Engagement

Tom Wilber (CHAIR) Journalist and author
Patrick Field (FACILITATOR) Managing Director, Consensus Building Institute; Associate Director, MIT-Harvard Public Disputes Program
Alan Krupnick Senior Fellow and Director, Center for Energy Economics and Policy, Resources for the Future
Larry Sanders Professor  and Extension Economist, Department of Agricultural Economics, Oklahoma State University
Dietram Scheufele Professor, Department of Life Sciences Communication, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Heidi Welsh Executive Director, Sustainable Investments Institute
Meghan Sahli-Wells Vice Mayor, Culver City
Jose Bravo Executive Director, Just Transition Alliance
Jean Goodwin Professor, Program in Speech Communication, Department of English, Iowa State University
Hollin Kretzmann Staff Attorney, Center for Biological Diversity
Ken Weiss Staff Writer, Los Angeles Times
Mark Gold Associate Director, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability, University of California, Los Angeles
Sofia Plagakis Policy Analyst, Environmental Right to Know, Center for Effective Government
Miriam Rotkin-Ellman Staff Scientist, Health Program, Natural Resources Defense Council
Jim McElfish Senior Attorney and Director, Sustainable Use of Land Program, Environmental Law Institute
Madeline Stano Staff Attorney, Center on Race, Poverty, and the Environment
David Keane Vice President of Policy and Corporate Affairs, BG Group; Chair, Industry Council for America’s Energy Coast
Kyle Ferrar Coordinator, FracTracker CA, and environmental health scientist
Elizabeth Long Professor and Department Chair, Department of Sociology, Rice University
Irma Muñoz Founder and President, Mujeres de la Tierra
Martha Dina Argüello Executive Director, Physicians for Social Responsibility
Nancy Stephens Union of Concerned Scientists Board Member
Mary Ann Sumner Town Supervisor of Dryden, New York

We Need Your Support
to Make Change Happen

We can ensure that decisions about our health, safety, and environment are based on the best available science—but not without you. Your generous support helps develop science-based solutions for a healthy, safe, and sustainable future.