Media Policies at Federal Agencies

For our report Grading Government Transparency, we assessed the media and social media policies of 17 federal agencies, evaluating their current status and their progress since our 2008 media policy scorecard.

For those who want a closer look at the policy documents that the report's assessments were based on, we have provided links below. Most policies are available on agency websites, but some were obtained through Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests.

Bureau of Land Management (Department of the Interior)

Census Bureau (Department of Commerce)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Department of Health and Human Services)

Consumer Product Safety Commission

Department of Energy

Environmental Protection Agency

Food and Drug Administration (Department of Health and Human Services)

United States Fish and Wildlife Service (Department of the Interior)

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services)

National Institute of Standards and Technology (Department of Commerce)

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (Department of Commerce)

Nuclear Regulatory Commission

National Science Foundation

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Department of Labor)

United States Geological Survey (Department of the Interior)

United States Department of Agriculture

Related resources